> Home Page > Awards > Bill Woycik Outstanding Facility Award

Bill Woycik Outstanding Facility Award

Bill Woycik

W.E. “Bill” Woycik was the eighth President (1962-1963) and a long serving Secretary-Treasurer (1969-1976) of the Association when it was originally known as the BC Arena, Auditorium & Stadium Association.

Bill served his community as the Manager of the Prince George Coliseum. He later became the Civic Properties Manager, Manager of the Civic Properties and Recreation Commission and his last official title up to 1987 while working for the City was Director of Civic Properties and Recreation.

Bill sadly passed away in 1991.

For his meritorious service to the Association Bill was awarded an Award of Merit by the Association in 1991. This award was presented posthumously to his wife Florence and two daughters Sherri-Lee and Shirlee-Ann.

The memorial award in Bill’s name was established to honour him and is awarded to one outstanding new or improved facility in the province each year.

The conditions of the award are:

It must be a recreation, sport or leisure facility. It must be a relatively new or newly renovated facility. It must meet a demonstrated (and greatest) community need. It should demonstrate innovations in design, energy management, operations, revenue generation, services, etc. The facility or community must have a member of good standing within the RFABC. The facility should demonstrate efficiencies in operation, energy conservation and preventative maintenance.


Year Recipient
1992 Castlegar & District Aquatic Centre,
1993 Riverside Coliseum, Kamloops
1994 District of Taylor Ice Arena,
1995 Rutland Arena, Kelowna
1996 Panorama Leisure Centre & Prince George Civic Centre
1997 Ice Sports Centre
1998 Strathcona Gardens, Campbell River 
& Pinetree Community Centre, Coquitlam
2000 Comox Valley Aquatic Centre
2001 Seaparc Leisure Complex, Sooke 
& Surrey Sports and Leisure Complex
2002 Port Alberni Multi Plex
2003 Guildford Community Centre, Surrey
2004 Oceanside Place, Parksville
2005 Esquimalt Recreation Centre
2006 Revelstoke Recreation Centre & Mission  Leisure Centre
2007 Nanaimo Ice Centre, Nanaimo
2008 Armstrong / Spallumckeen Arena, Armstrong
2010 Cowichan Aquatic Centre, Duncan
2011 Poirier Sports & Leisure Centre, Coquitlam
2012 Cowichan Sports Arena Renovation Project, Duncan
2013 Pitt Meadows Arena, Pitt Meadows
2014 Kin Centre Enhancement Project, Prince George
2015 Ladner Leisure Centre, Delta
2016 Timms Community Centre, Langley
2017 City Centre Community Centre, Richmond
2018 Delbrook Community Centre, North Vancouver
2019 Aldergrove Community Centre, Langley
2020  Queen's Park Arena, New Westminster
Masich Stadium, Prince George