> Home Page > Awards > Bob Muir Memorial Trophy

Bob Muir Memorial Trophy

bob muir

This memorial trophy was named in honour of Robert John McNaughton “Bob” Muir.

Bob was a hockey player, husband, father, hardware merchant and a very civic minded individual in his community of Powell River. In addition to his many other accomplishments and responsibilities he took on the major role of being Chairman for the building of the Powell River (Willingdon) Arena. This facility opened in 1955. That same year he was honoured with the title of “Good Citizen” for his dedicated service to the community. Tragically Bob Muir and all of the other people on board were killed in the 1956 crash of Trans-Canada Air Lines Flight 810 into Mount Slesse near Chilliwack.

To honour his memory the Association decided to create this trophy in Bob’s name. It was presented by Bob Muir’s widow Alice Muir to the first winner in 1957.

The original conditions of the award were:

President’s Award to the “Manager of the Year” for his outstanding contribution to the BC Arena, Auditorium & Stadium Association.

Currently the conditions of this award are:

This award is presented to the member of the Association who in the opinion of the President has made an outstanding contribution to the Association during the year.


Year Recipient Organization/Location
1957 Herb Phillips Vernon
1958 Jack Morgan Nelson
1959 Reg Stone Trail
1960 J.O. “Bus” Evans PNE
1961 Jack Morgan Victoria
1962 Harry Atkinson Kerrisdale
1964 Jack Morgan Victoria
1967 J.J. lannarelli, Sr. Esquimalt
1968 John Bate Victoria
1969 Joe Dukowski Coquitlam
1971 Jack Boutilier Vernon
1972 Hobie Clark Edmonton
1973 W.E. “Bill” Woycik Prince George
1974 W.H. “Bill” Young Saanich
1975 Stan Shigehiro Coquitlam
1976 W.H. “Bill” Young Saanich
1977 Doug Ruttan Juan de Fuca
1978 Chuck Lawrence Surrey
1979 Gordon Smith Kelowna
1980 Ron Gardler Saanich
1981 Fred Madden Logan Lake
1982 Len Bjola Sooke
1983 Gerry Morgan Gold River
1984 Dave Susak Williams Lake
1985 John Bate Victoria
1986 John Atkinson White Rock
1987 Tom Walton Mackenzie
1988 Vince Kreiser Vancouver Community College
1989 Denis Leclerc New Westminster
1990 Mike Creedon Courtenay
1991 Bill Reekie Campbell River
1992 Vince Kreiser Vancouver Community College
1993 David Susak Kamloops
1994 Bob Coghill Salmon Arm
1995 Ryan Mulligan Chilliwack
1996 Louie Labbe Surrey
1997 Ryan Mulligan Chilliwack
1998 Ryan Mulligan Chilliwack
1999 Ray Boogaards Prince George
2000 Ray Boogaards Prince George
2001 Carolyn Madge Oliver
2002 Wilbur Wostradowski Kelowna
2003 Chris Nelson Esquimalt
2004 Joyce Fordyce Coquitlam
2005 Jamie Rennie Surrey
2006 John Elzinga Lake Cowichan
2007 Ed Dockter Squamish
2008 Bob Grant Oliver
2009  Gary Rushton Aldergrove 
2010  Todd Wallace Castlegar
2011 Ron Aubrey
2012 Karin Carlson Fort St. John 
2013 Robert Baker Trail
2014 Ron Dietrich Westshore Parks and Recreation
2016 Chris Siddaway Coquitlam
2017 Geoff Chesterton Aldergrove
2018 Terry Welsh Nakusp
2019 Ron Dietrich Westshore Parks and Recreation
2020  Ian Welle Victoria
Jenna Stevens
Port Moody